• 2019 Ass't Principal of the year John Seibel from Hammond High in Howard County is pictured with Executive Director Monifa McKnight, principal John DiPaula and community superintendent Marcy Leonard

  • Many thanks to the members of MASSP's Assistant Principal conference planning committee: Kim Stem, Wes Winters, Dierdre Smalls-Screws, Henry Wagner, Kim Scaife, John Seibel, Scott Pfeifer, Cynthia Thomas, Erin H'Hara, Carrie Mitten, Lamark Holley, Gary Wasielewski, Sam Buckley, Ryan Novitski

  • Members of the state board of education along with Superintendent Salmon honor principals of the year Cindy Dillon and Mildred Charley-Greene and AP of the Year John Seibel

  • John Lang, Executive Director of CEASOM, presents MASSP president Stephanie Farmer her marble plaque

  • MASSP President Stephanie Farmer presents Middle School principal of the year Joey Jones from Frost Middle School his crystal trophy

  • MASSP president Stephanie Farmer presents Nick Novak from Howard High School his high school principal of the year awards

  • MASSP President Wanita Fleury from Bohemia Manor High presents outgoing president Stephanie Farmer her President's plaque

  • NASSP President Christine Handy leads a workshop of "Building Ranks" at the 2019 MASSP Spring Conference in Cambridge

  • Senator Chris Van Hollen joins MASSP's delegation for a photo op outside his office as part of NASSP's Federal Grass Roots Network "Hill Day" activities.  We spoke to many of Maryland's delegation on important educational issues.

  • State Board Chair Andy Smarick presents Governor's Proclamation regarding Principals Month to MASSP Exec Scott Pfeifer and MAESP Exec Steve Hagenbuch

  • NASSP Board Member Robert Motley

    Robert Motley is the principal of Glenwood Middle School in Howard County.  He represents Region II on the NASSP board along with Christine Handy.  Robert worked with Exec Scott Pfeifer at Centennial High School in 2004,

  • Dr. Addie Kaufman takes over as executive director of MASSP on July 1, 2019.  She was a principal for many years in Howard County.  She has been an MASSP member her entire administrative career

  • NASSP President Christine Handy

    Christine Handy, Principal of Gaithersburg High School in Montgomery County now serves as the President of the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

  • Carroll County once again leads the pack in spring conference attendance.  They bring new definition to the term "collegiality!"

  • Longtime MASSP sponsor Jeff Segall presents his door prize of two Orioles box seats to a lucky MASSP member


Welcome to Maryland Association for Secondary School Principals' new website.  

MASSP is a proud affiliate of the National Association of Secondary School Principals and we join with them in serving the professional development and advocacy needs of our members.  Education reform is constant, and one way for school administrators to keep pace with this shifting landscape is through the networking that our professional associations provide.  MASSP and NASSP will partner at the state and national level to ensure that our members are provided the tools to do their job effectively.  Check out all NASSP member benefits on the web. Many members find especially useful NASSP's National List of Approved Contests and Activities for Students. You can access that at this link.


Read More

Membership Benefits

  • Legislation monitoring and advocacy for federal legislation and Maryland legislative activity
  • Representation for principals at all important stakeholder meetings regarding education policy including all meetings of the Maryland State Board of Education
  • Legal reimbursement and liability insurance
  • Affordable, high quality conferences on hot topics, plus our signature Spring Conference and AP Conference
  • Sponsorship of Principal of the Year and Assistant Principal of the Year Program
  • Professional development scholarship awards for Assistant Principals
  • Regular communication through newsletters and email alerts.


Join Now

Upcoming Meetings/Events

Latest Tweets