• Congratulations to the 2021 MASSP High School Principal of the Year (POY), Mrs. Nicole Isley-McClure, High Point High School in Prince George's County.  Nicole's application has been forwarded to NASSP as Maryland's official winner and she will compete in the National POY program.

  • Congratulations to the 2021 MASSP Middle School Principal of the Year, Mr. Matthew Record from Pocomoke Middle School in Worcester County.  

  • Congratulations to the 2020 MASSP Assistant Principal of the Year, Mrs. Catherine Sutton from Calvert High School in Calvert County.  Mrs. Sutton received her award at the Annual Assistant Principals' Conference in October, 2019.

  • Over the years, Worcester County has had four winners of the MASSP Principal of the Year Award: Dr. Annette Wallace, Chief Operating Officer; Mr. Matthew Record, Principal (2021); Mr. Lou Taylor, Superintendent; and Dr. Michael Browne, Elementary School Principal.
  • Dr. Addie Kaufman, Executive Director, exhibits for MASSP at the Maryland Assessment Group (MAG) Conference.


Welcome to the Maryland Association for Secondary School Principals' website.  

MASSP is a proud affiliate of the National Association of Secondary School Principals, and we join with them in serving the professional development and advocacy needs of our members.  Education reform is constant, and one way for school administrators to keep pace with this shifting landscape is through the networking that our professional associations provide.  MASSP and NASSP will partner at the state and national level to ensure that our members are provided the tools to do their job effectively.  Check out all NASSP member benefits on the web. Many members find especially useful NASSP's National List of Approved Contests and Activities for Students. You can access that at this link.


Read More

Membership Benefits

  • Legislation monitoring and advocacy for federal legislation and Maryland legislative activity
  • Representation for principals at all important stakeholder meetings regarding education policy including all meetings of the Maryland State Board of Education
  • Legal reimbursement and liability insurance
  • Affordable, high quality conferences on hot topics, plus our signature Spring Conference and AP Conference
  • Sponsorship of Principal-of-the-Year and Assistant Principal-of-the-Year Program
  • Professional development scholarship awards for Assistant Principals
  • Regular communication through newsletters and email alerts.


Join Now

Latest Tweets